Previous
Next
Archive
Guestbook
Profile
Email






Korean Chicken!
2k1 June 6 - 11:57 PM HST

Feda wa doko ni deshita ka?

crap crap crap. I was in a Pesto and French bread mood this afternoon and when I opened the container of Pesto I spied several furry clusters of green MOLD! Crap - I just purchased it from a local market this weekend and it's already biologically active! Crap! No preservatives - no wonder...

My coworker Lisa is a weirdo about Chicken McNuggets�. I've been a fan of the little compressed pieces since they were introduced to the world back in the EIGHTIES and never noticed until a couple of weeks ago that some pieces contain both light and dark meat. Duh - I assumed they were comprised of only the light type (yeah, and chicken normally comes shaped like a boot). Anyhoos, Lisa was polite enough to teach me how to spot the different types by looking at the difference in coloring, thereby saving me the chore of having to peel each individual piece. Mind you, I have no preference - as long as they're cooked, they're edible to me. Lisa on the other hand, despises dark meat and will happily donate those unsavory McNuggets to dark meat fans. She also doesn't care for McNuggets with knorples (pronounced kuh-nore-puls) - the ligament thingies.

"Cobra" is on the telly right now. Sylvester Stallone in his 80s bad-cop-with-a-good-heart action flick. Neat-O car - holey plot - semi-nauseating soundtrack. Egads - Brigitte with a beret! *flashback to 8th grade* ai yah!

Okie - here's my recipe for Korean Chicken wings. Mind you, it's not an exact formula - I hate Chemistry - and it leaves room for personal preferences. If you try it be sure to let me know how it turned out!

Shelly's Korean Chicken

5 lbs. chicken drummettes
1 C. shoyu
1 C. sugar
1 stalk green onion, minced
1 tsp. garlic salt
1 Tbsp. chili pepper oil
2 Tbsp. sesame oil
2 Tbsp. sesame seeds, toasted
Salt and pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients except chicken in a quart size bottle, shake well to combine. Marinade can be adjusted to taste for spiciness, etc. Pour marinade into medium size bowl.

Dredge drummettes in flour. Deep fry in oil (375�F) in small batches until done. Drain excess oil then immediately dip into marinade, coating drummettes well. Drain and place on serving dish.