Previous
Next
Archive
Guestbook
Profile
Email






Banzai - butter mochi!
2k1 June 25 - 11:07 pm HST
mmmm...Butter mochi! I made a batch after dinner tonight and it's delicious aroma filled the kitchen and living room, making it very cozy. One of life's good things! It ranks right up there with hot showers, Pert plus 2-in-1 shampoo, DVDs and air conditioning. I am trying out a few recipes from Hawaii's Best Mochi Recipes by Jean Watanabe Hee. Recipe @ bottom!

Feda and I are on another house-sitting job. Yeah - we call it a job but where's the paycheck? Actually, it's okay 'cause we're together and it's peaceful out here in Paradise Park. Well, if you can block out the tree frogs at night and the little chirping birdies in the Ohia at daybreak. I suppose the sounds of nature are a plus compared to 'mento' teens racing up and down the street in the middle of the night. Tonight is a little muggier than usual and the fans don't seem to be helping much - ack!

Ebay has a plethora of jadeite jade and 'jade' merchandise in a palette of colors (hmmm...did that make sense - palette?). I bid on two pendants earlier this afternoon - one for $5 and the other for $10. The $10 pendant is a green jade carp that's very similar in style and size to one that we sell at work for $120. Wow - talk about a markup. Actually, the Ebay seller is based in Hong Kong so that probably accounts for the big difference in price. If I win the auctions these pendants will make nice gifts for special people...

I haven't kept to my New Year's resolution - go figure, Queen of Procrastination! Actually, I'd made a few resolutions and at this halfway mark it seems that I've forgotten about most of them. The one that I'm referring to right now is my resolution to read more books - probably one of the more important ones. I've certainly tried to keep my supply end up by buying books but dangit, trying to find the time and environment to read is another job in itself.

Awatenai - awatenai! Alright already! Here's the formula for Butter Mochi #1 - let me know if you try it out!

Butter Mochi #1
1 box mochiko (16 oz)
3 C. sugar
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1 stick (1/2 C) butter or margarine
5 eggs, beaten
1 tsp. vanilla
1 can coconut milk (12 oz)

Melt butter and set aside to cool. In large mixing bowl, combine all ingredients. Mix with spoon until batter is smooth. Pour into well greased 9x13-inch baking pan. Bake at 375F degrees for 1 hour or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool and cut into squares.

Reprinted without permission
Hawaii's Best Mochi Recipes by Jean Watanabe Hee