Previous
Next
Archive
Guestbook
Profile
Email






808 AAA
2k4 November 29 - 11:21 PM HST
Yesterday I was woken up by my cell phone. at 5:30am. It was a call from someone I don't know and I recognized that it was an out-of-state number. The man on the other end inquired about someone named "Ricky Boy" and his Ford truck and muttered something about the highway and other unintelligible things. I managed to croak out that he had the wrong number before I hung up and went back to sleep. About an hour later I must've gotten another call from that guy while I was in the shower. He left a voice mail. I called him on my way to work to find out who this "Ricky Boy" is and what he wanted with him. It turns out that "Ricky Boy" was stuck on the side of some highway in Georgia and this guy was given my number to call for help with his broke-down Ford F150. When I told the caller that he'd called Hawaii he said, "Hawaii??! Well, gosh darnit. How's the surf out there?" I told him it was dumping rain and that I unfortunately was heading towards the mall instead of the beach. He started to chuckle and said something southern that I couldn't understand so I replied with "Happy Holidays!" before hanging up.

For the rest of the drive into work I could only picture some poor guy freezing his behind off while waiting on his friends to get him some help with his broke-down Ford.