Previous
Next
Archive
Guestbook
Profile
Email






hurray for the weekend!
2k2 April 6 - 12:14 AM HST
I am in a bidding war. More specifically, a bidding war over a Monopoly gameboard cross stitch chart. Yes, life is exciting. Oh, my! Actually, I did a search for Marimbas and thankfully, Ebay was doing maintenence so I wasn't able to find out how much they cost. (don't wanna know, really)

The annual Merrie Monarch Festival is in full swing - tonight was day #2 of competition. We are feeling the impact of the 5,000+ attendees here in Hilo this week - traffic, lines at Long's Drugs, lines at KTA, the fragrance of fresh haku lei in the air, traffic, plenny craft fairs, more traffic. It is wonderful, though, to have a bustling town once again, even if it's only for a week.

This afternoon I met a couple who just moved back to Hawaii from California after almost 10 years. They previously owned a Baskin-Robbins franchise on Kauai but sold the business after Hurricane Iniki hit on September 11, 1992. Interestingly enough, they knew a the Hilo B-R franchise owners, whose daughter was my classmate! Small world, indeed.

Woohoo! A weekend away from work! Even better, the Merrie Monarch Festival Parade will be held tomorrow morning! Feda and I will take lots of pictures. And we'll be sure to hit the Craft Fairs too...